Saturday, December 11, 2010

2011 ACPL Mock Newbery Winners

After a full morning of discussion, we reached a decision on our Mock Newbery winners for the year:

The 2011 ACPL Mock Newbery is awarded to Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes.

Our group selected four honor books:

They Called Themselves the K.K.K. - The Birth of An American Terrorist Group by Susan Campbell Bartoletti

Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

Dark Emperor & Other Poems of the Night by Joyce Sidman

One Crazy Summer
by Rita Williams-Garcia


Anonymous said...

Great choices!

Anonymous said...

Ninth Ward leaves MUCH to be desired... I find it extremely careless of this committee to have selected it as the Mock Newbery winner.

Mary Ann Scheuer said...

Oh, I adored Ninth Ward. I found it powerful, eloquent and heart-felt. Anonymous, please use specific comments if you are going to use harsh words like "careless." That seems to be said without care, in my opinion.

kayakgirl said...

I thought "Ninth Ward" deserved to win the Newbery today, at the very least an honor.